Daily Archives: July 20, 2014

Long time no…

DSC03797a

Ok, so it’s been AGES since I’ve blogged. I just wasn’t feelin’ it! ¬†But, while I was gone I still baked and sometimes I actually remembered to take pictures.

I’ve been doing some digging into DIY detergents and body products and makeup and wow. It really is amazing how much you can do with baking soda, coconut oil and beeswax! I don’t wear makeup and I never really did use skin products, other than a moisturizer here and there… So even though I want to make my own mascara I have to remind myself that I haven’t worn it in too long to remember, so why now? I just like to make new stuff ūüôā

I think I’m going to make a Links section and post some good resources in there.


So,¬†here is¬†what I made for Valentine’s Day. They were pretty divine. I love raspberries and dark chocolate together. ¬†I wasn’t entirely happy with the pastry I used, some of the shells were too thick and¬†kinda dry. I want to find something a little more delicate.

I actually can’t remember where I got this recipe from, and writing this 5 months after leaves my memories wanting. So, We’ll just go through the basics!

Chocolate Raspberry Mini Tarts

1 bag frozen strawberries Рor about 2 cups
granulated sugar
corn starch
8oz dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
1 cup whipping cream

For the crust I’m going to try this next time:¬†Pate Brisee¬†from my favourite Joy of Baking! But if you have your own recipe, go for it. Just keep the crust very thin as it overtakes the tart otherwise. ¬†I started by measuring out equal bits of dough. I cut it down after the first batch came out too thick. Bake as per recipe, but keep an eye on them.

DSC03785a

Place chopped chocolate in a medium bowl and bring cream just to a boil.  Pour over chocolate and let stand for a few minutes before stirring the cream into the chocolate.

Set aside to cool, but not too much. Keep it soft so you can drop little blobs.

DSC03780a

Thaw your raspberries for a few minutes in a fine mesh strainer.  Place the strainer over a bowl and begin to smush the berries through. Make a mash and use a flat-ish spoon or a spatula to help. It will take a little while, but I like the texture of doing it this way. You will end up with basically only seeds left in the strainer.

raspberries

Stir in 2 tsp of cornstarch.  If it needs to be thicker, add 1 tsp at a time until it is a little gooey.

Add sugar to taste – as sweet as you like (or not). It will also depend on your raspberries.

Set aside.

DSC03795a

Once you have your pastry baked, wait for them to cool and then fill them with a spoonful or two of raspberry sauce and then top with the soft chocolate. I like the random melty look, but you could whip the ganache and pipe it out, too, if you want a more uniform look.

I dropped on the lip sprinkles since it was that day and they looked so cute!

DSC03807a

 

