Wild Mushroom & Blue Cheese crackers

I love making my own crackers.  They’re infinitely more tasty than store bought (as is most homemade stuff) and they’re basically like savory cookies.

These crackers are great on their own because they are so full of flavour – but I usually serve them with my favourite cheese-ball recipe.  (I’ll have to post that later because I didn’t take any pictures of the making of it!) It’s actually almost a shame to cover these crackers in cheese… But I do it anyway. Because cheese.

The recipe is pretty simple and your kitchen will smell like heaven while they’re baking. Although, before the baking part, people who are not a fan of blue cheese may suggest it smells otherwise! haha. But I long ago discovered that the stinkier the cheese the better it tastes.

Ok, so back to crackers.  They are a staple of the party munchy, especially combined with cheese, and when they’re homemade they make quite a impression.  I never even considered the idea of making my own crackers before I found this recipe. I also didn’t even like blue cheese OR mushrooms… (Why exactly did I make them? hmm…) But boy I’m glad I did.

I usually use typical cracker shape cookie cutters to make them; square, round, rectangular etc… But this time I decided to get festive and make them with Christmas shapes.  Being that cracker dough is very elastic it tends to start shrinking immediately after being rolled out and then moreso in the oven. It doesn’t shrink evenly either! My first batch turned out OK and kept their shape nicely… By the end, however, not so much.

santablob

This should be a Santa head. Fluffy beard on the bottom, hat on top with the little pompom off the side… You can see it, right? 🙂

Crackers

20131207_124338

1/4oz dried wild mushrooms – like chantrelle or porcini.
1/2  cup unsalted butter, softened
8oz blue cheese
2 cup all purpose flour, plus more for rolling
1 1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper
1/4 cup milk
coarse salt

20131207_133019

Crumble blue cheese into a large bowl.

20131207_133101

Add softened butter.

20131207_133856

Beat on medium speed until creamy.

20131207_134521

Finely grind dried mushrooms in a spice grinder. Add to cheese mix with flour and black pepper.  Stir until just combined.

20131207_135912

Add milk and mix until mixture comes together. It will be quite stiff. (I use my hands to get this last part done).
Preheat oven to 350°F.

20131207_141103

Divide it into disks, wrap 2 in plastic and set aside.

20131207_145152

Roll out dough on a lightly floured surface to 1/16″ thick.
Cut out cracker shapes with cookie cutters much larger than you think necessary (about 3 1/2″ round). The shrinking will reduce them to reasonable size!

20131207_142441

Pierce with fork several times and sprinkle lightly with salt.
(Although this image seems to be lacking both salt and pokes)

20131207_162605

Bake until golden brown, about 15-20 minutes. Cool on wire rack.

They will last in an airtight container about 1 week – but good luck getting them to last that long.

Leave a Reply

