Mo’ Staches

DSC03236a

Movember is upon us again! Its still early, but I’ve been up to my knees in staches since a few days before the month started.

My plan was to start the cookie baking on the Tuesday before the 1st .  Get the dough done and bake a few batches, too. But, low and behold… I was missing my ‘stache cookie cutters! /despair

After a good hour of tearing apart my pantry and periods of standing in the centre of my kitchen lamenting my forgetfulness through some cathartic cursing, I remembered that I had lent them to someone last year. I managed to pick them up from her on Wednesday and although my plans were a day behind, it all worked out. Although, I can’t say I saw a lot of my bed…

Again this year I was making them for a Mo bake sale we do at my office but I was also selling them at a Movember event: Close Shave 2: The Next Generation. (Pictures here!) I think Nov 1st was a pretty good day for the Mo campaign!

DSC03229a

DSC03220aDSC03241a

20131101_015618

20131101_015335

This weekend I got in the mood to make meringue cookies, so why not meringue moustaches! I used my chocolate macaron recipe and my trusty Fuzzy Ink cookie cutters and was pretty surprised with the results.  At first I actually tried to make the staches freehand… but I didn’t have the right tip for what I had envisioned, so I went for the cookie cutters to help with the shape.


DSC03255a DSC03260a

They’re a little rough looking, but still pretty awesome! Some of them even have a bit of a pied.  They’re perfect texture, crispy with a little soft in the centre. If I make these again, I would use star tip to give them a bit of a moustachey texture… But these are just for me to munch on, so fancy isn’t a requirement.

DSC03271a

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

