Tuiles

How is it that I always manage to go out on the day it rains and stay inside baking all day when it’s beautiful? I guess I should check the weather more often…

DSC03152a

So on this beautiful sunday I spent all day in the kitchen, minus a quick hop to the grocery store for almond flour. The sun was shining, the sky was clear, and my oven was on from 13:00 till almost 21:00. I keep thinking I must have turned it off at some point but  I don’t think i did! oh my…

I’ve been rather lax in my posting these days and feeling guilty about it. I’ve been baking, just not anything which would warrant a post. So I decided to try a couple of new cookies this weekend! I keep a list of recipes I find and want to bake but will inevitably forget about 5 seconds after I close the webpage,magazine etc. 😛  A long time ago I saw these cookies that looked like lace and were paper thin and also curved into little scoops, for lack of a better term. They were so cute I had to make them. 6 years later.

Tuiles are from the french word for tile, referring to their being shaped as the french roof tiles often seen in the countryside.

DSC03177a

I picture them being a cookie for Ladies who Lunch, with fancy hats and dainty tea cups in drawings rooms of unpronounceable country estates. 😀 I am none of those things, but I wanted these cookies!

They turned out quite well, once I stopped trying to tweak this or that.  I burned quite a few, but realistically, the amount of batter this recipe makes and the amount used for each cookie is a remarkable ratio! I have tons of cookies and it doesn’t look I put a dent in the batter. This is a good and a bad thing, as I will now be baking these darn things all week! ha! I’m going to try and freeze some of the batter as well.

Tuiles

1/3 cup orange juice, preferable fresh
zest of one large orange
1/4 cup orange liqueur (I used Cointreau) 
1 1/4 cup granulated sugar
7 Tbsp melted butter
2 cup finely sliced almonds
1 cup sifted, all purpose flour

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, stir well.  Let sit for 10-15 mins.

DSC03164a

DSC03166a

Complicated, eh? It gets better…

Butter your baking tray using some extra melted butter brushed on with a pastry brush. Or use silicon mats like I did but DO NOT butter them! haha.

Using about a teaspoon of batter at a time place 4 cookies per sheet – leave lots of room between them. They will spread to be at least 3″ in diameter, and not always evenly. 

DSC03170a

Using a moist fork, spread the batter into a circle. The batter should only be about as thick as the almonds.

Bake in a 350°F oven with the rack in the middle for 7 minutes. Rotate the baking sheet halfway through.

DSC03186a

I buttered the first of two baking sheets. The silicon mat made it wholly unnecessary. They turned out ok, albeit kidney shaped.

I thought the first ones were not quite done enough since they weren’t as golden as I expected, but they were some of the best .  I played with the time, up to 8 minutes and then back to 7. They burn quite easily. They also burned faster when I forgot to rotate them.

When you pull them out, don’t get distracted while they’re cooling. Hover over them for about 30 seconds and when they’re ready to move without falling apart move them quickly but gently to a nearby rolling pin or wine bottle and let them cool. 

DSC03174a

Although, if you forget them and they get too cool, they’re still very pretty while flat. I’ve heard you can return them to the oven briefly to regain their flexibility, but I didn’t try this.

Apparently the way to tell if they’re thin enough is to drop one on the floor and hope it shatters into small pieces. If not, spread the batter thinner. Mine shattered quite nicely!

DSC03179a

They lose some of their crispness over night so they are best served the day they are made. Today (Monday) they were still fairly crispy but the middles were chewier.  I’m going to try to recrispify some tomorrow with a dry piece of bread.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

