Taste Test Pass!



DSC02787

I finally opened a jar of my beet jelly on Labour Day weekend at the cottage.  I had no idea what to expect.  I refused to believe what people were saying about it not tasting like beets at all.  Beet is an unmistakable flavour. How, then, could 4 cups of beet juice be transformed into a berry flavour.

DSC02790a

But it was. Oh wow.  I haven’t had jelly in years.  I don’t usually keep enough bread products around the house to warrant it. Now I have 5 more jars of this red gold in my pantry. I’m going to have to buy some more Rusks. I have a renewed love for the wobbly stuff!

DSC02792

I also opened a jar of my pickled beets. Amazing. Very mild pickling solution so they’re still mostly beety! Lookin’ forward to pulling out a jar of these guys mid january.

DSC02784

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

