Mango Sorbet

I went to the St. Lawrence Market for the first time this Saturday.  I’ve lived in the city almost 10 years and this is the first time I’ve actually made it. I went once on a Sunday… they were closed. Oops!

Its a beautiful building and the market is wonderful! We didn’t stay too long – so hot and very busy – but we got ourselves some tenderloin steaks for dinner as well as some sweet corn.  I’m sceptical about the corn since it’s pretty early in the season, but it looks nice so hopefully it will be tasty.

My mission to go to the market was inspired by my need to make pickles again this year. I missed the dill season last year and was determined not to miss it this year.  I got my cucumbers and dill, so mission success. Keep an eye out for an upcoming pickle post!

I also saw really huge, lovely looking mangoes while I was there and given the heat I figured a frozen dessert was a must.  I don’t do ice cream since lactose and I don’t get along, so this recipe is an easy way to get a fresh, cold dessert in the summer.

Mango Sorbet

1 large ripe mango
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 cup water
1/4 cup sugar*

DSC02329

Put the water and sugar in a small saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring until dissolved. Reduce heat and simmer for 1 min.  Remove from heat and let cool completely.

DSC02331DSC02336

Peel and cut the mango into chunks and place it in the food processor. Add lemon juice and sugar syrup (when cooled) to the processor and process until smooth. Strain the mixture through a fine mesh sieve into a container (preferably something with a larger surface area, it will take less time to freeze) and place in the freezer for 3-4 hours or so.

DSC02337DSC02344

Remove from freezer and break apart and place the frozen fruit mix back in the food processor and process until foamy and smooth.  Put it back in the freezer until ready to serve.

DSC02349

* The original recipe called for a whole cup of sugar, but that was just crazy.  I usually do 1/2 cup, but the mango was very sweet, so I went down to a 1/4 cup.  I also used brown sugar this time instead of the regular white granulated stuff.

This is my favourite dessert in the summer. You can serve it with fresh fruit on the side and a few cookies… mmmm! I have also made this recipe with a few other fruits, so really, pick your favourite fruit and go to town!

– Banana worked very well, with a mild flavour and a lovely pale yellow colour.
– Strawberry was also wonderful. Very sweet and doesn’t freeze as well as the others, but it is lovely.  I also mixed some kiwi in with the strawberry and wow! what a flavour.
– Blueberries – not so good. not much flavour and turned out a bit watery.

 

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

