Spiced Oat Cookies

recipe

I finally managed to squeak out a moment to bake something. It has been ages.

A couple years ago a friend gave me a recipe – said a woman at his office had baked them and they were amazing. I intended to bake them then but the recipe has hung on the fridge until tonight.

Massive rainstorm in Toronto on Monday! I cancelled my exciting plans to do laundry and go grocery shopping due to the lakes in the streets and discovered that the ingredient list on the forlorn recipe on my fridge agreed with my pantry stock.

The recipe was very strange. It talks about the dough as if it were a pastry style instead of a sticky lumpy batter… So I went through the stages of a) confused, but still following instructions b) struck out on my own and finally c) keep it simple, stupid.

cookie log

After an unsuccessful attempt to roll out the batter, I thought maybe if I rolled it into a log I could slice it. Not a bad idea, but I would have had to freeze it first… and since I didn’t, it crumbled. I ended up just dropping tablespoons onto the sheets.

It is a straightforward recipe, and I think I will adjust the spice content next time, aiming for a ginger cookie flavour maybe?

Actually, the more I reread the recipe the more about it seems strange. It says bake for 25  15 mins… but it only took 9.  It also says it will make  30  which was scratched out to say 60 cookies. Whatever. They turned out pretty well and there’s room for improvement!

cookie pile

3/4 cup butter, softened
1 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
1/2 cup self rising flour (pencilled in beside which it states “+3/4 tsp baking powder”.
Pinch of salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tbsp ground cinnamon
2-3/4 cups rolled oats

Preheat oven to 350°F. Prepare several baking sheets – grease with butter, or use parchment paper or silicon mats.

In a large bowl, beat butter with brown sugar until creamy. Beat in vanilla and egg.  Sift your, salt, baking soda and cinnamon into bowl; blend in with a spoon.

Add rolled oats; mix with your hand to form a soft dough.  If dough is too soft to roll out, chill until firm. 

cookie raw

(I didn’t do the instructions in italics)
Roll out dough on a floured surface to 1/4″. Using a 2″ round cookie cutter, cut out circles from dough; place on baking sheets. Knead and roll out trimmings; cut out more circles.  Continue until dough is used up.

Bake cookies about 25 mins or until lightly browned. 

I only baked them for 9 minutes. They’re chewy and a bit crispy on the edges.

cookie crunch

Cool on baking sheets for a few minutes then remove to wire racks racks. Sprinkle powdered sugar lightly over cookies. I skipped this too. These just didn’t feel like the kind of cookies that needed sugar…

cookies

All in all a tasty cookie! Nothing like what the recipe shows though. The picture looks like a dryer, crunchy cookie. Maybe different oats would make a difference? Steel cut vs. quick?

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Spiced Oat Cookies

  1. LFFL July 10, 2013 at 10:32 pm Reply

    Now those sound delicious!!

  2. MissModderman July 16, 2013 at 10:36 pm Reply

    They’re pretty great, and you could put whatever else you want in them!

Leave a Reply

