Pi(e) are squared!

So… I made a square pie this year.  Because pie are squared. Tee hee.

It also enabled this nifty equation pie.

The chocolate mousse is a repeat of Monday’s mousse… although, I stopped at what I thought was ‘soft peaks’ this time and it was too soft. There was liquid beneath the whipped egg, so I had to rebeat again. I still stopped beating a little earlier than previously and I was not as happy with this mousse as I ended up being with Monday’s.  So, now I know: foamy is good. Maybe next time I’ll beat it past foamy and see what I get.  I’m never going to want to see mousse again after that.

The white chocolate mousse is… well, it was less complicated than the chocolate, but I don’t really like the flavour.  I could have used a better white chocolate, but it was hard to get my hands on a good quality white chocolate. I’ll have to take another look when I’m less pressed for time. It turned out well though, very thick but fluffy. It uses cream instead of eggs.  Have you ever seen what happens to cream when you over beat it? *shudder* I’ll never make that mistake again.  I bought extra eggs because that was my most likely item to need more of. I did not think I would mess up the cream, but thankfully I had enough.

I started with the white chocolate mousse and it was fairly easy.  I was unsure if it would be a nice texture, but after I put it in the fridge for a while it worked out perfectly. Better than my chocolate actually, since I was still unsure of egg texture… I put that one in the fridge too, but I was running out of time, so it wasn’t long enough.

So here it is:

*Note*
I halved the recipe, so if you’re making the whole thing, don’t use your mini processor 😀

INGREDIENTS

2 1/2 cups heavy cream
1 pkt (7 grams) gelatin
12 oz white chocolate

Dissolve gelatin in 1/4 cup cold water, and set aside for 5 minutes.

gelatin

Place chocolate in the bowl of a food processor, and pulse until very finely chopped.

mini chopped

Prepare an ice-water bath; set aside.

Place 3/4 cup cream in a small saucepan, and bring just to a boil over medium-high heat. Add gelatin, and stir for 30 seconds to dissolve completely. Pour into food processor with the motor running, and process until chocolate mixture is smooth.

(Since I did it in my mini processor, I couldn’t do this with the motor running.  I just added it in batches and processed in between.)

processing

Transfer to a medium bowl and place over ice water bath. Chill until mixture is thick enough to fall from a spoon in ribbons.

(I don’t really think the ice water bath is necessary, since it cools quickly enough anyways. I ended up having to warm it up a little so it was back to ribbon texture…)

P1070170 P1070182

Whip remaining 1 3/4 cups heavy cream to soft peaks. Fold into chocolate mixture. If not using immediately, refrigerate in an airtight container.

P1070178 P1070184

(I folded the chocolate mixture into the cream instead of the other way around. My chocolate bowl was not big enough for both!)

Now, comes the pi part.

My local grocery store has been removing products from their shelves, so I got there looking for the oreo cookie crumbs and they didn’t have any. After panicking a bit, since I was already running late, I managed to find some other cookie wafers that I could smash myself.

P1070164 P1070173

I processed 1 pkg of the wafers in the big processor until they were crumbs and I added about 1/2 cup of melted butter (maybe less, I wasn’t too precise. When I pinched it and it stuck together I went with it).  I pressed it into the pan and up the sides.

I made a little tinfoil/cardboard barrier to keep the white mousse in the corner.

P1070193

I added the chocolate mousse in the rest of the space – although I forgot to take a picture. I’m sure you can imagine it 🙂

Then I sort of scoop/pushed the corners of the chocolate in and used a piping bag to fill the rounded corners with white chocolate mousse.

I put the whole thing back in the fridge while I made some ganache for the lettering and circle outline.

( It wasn’t very smooth… I think it got too warm…)

P1070194

After some fussing and decorating, I finally have my pie!

P1070195

I hate that my text is crooked! It looked straight when I was writing it. I realize now that the top right corner didn’t come out as clear as I had hoped. It isn’t just the white circle area that is r^2, its the corner area as well.

265px-Circle_Area_svg

HAPPY PI(E) DAY! 😀

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

