Chocolate Marble Pi Loaf



Pi day is approaching! Today was test bake day. I usually bake a pie of some sort but I was having trouble coming up with a new pidea. ha.

In my search for creations I saw a pie where someone had made a a pi symbol in the cross section. I was thoroughly impressed and it sort of gave me an idea for one of my favourite recipes. (Although, if this doesn’t work, I might just have to make this Pi within a Pie)

I attempted to take my marble loaf recipe and instead of just marbling it I wanted to make a pi symbol in the cross section. As I type this it’s in the oven… I’m not sure it will work. It will be a pi shape… but I’m not sure it will look nice enough to make it officially my Pi Day item.

P1070093

It will be a tasty trial, regardless of how it looks! It’s a very moist loaf, which is great because I’m not a big loaf fan… It is also covered in ganache, which is a bonus! 😀

Ingredients

INGREDIENTS

8 ounces (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened, plus more for pan
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
8 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
2/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
4 large eggs
1/2 cup milk (I used almond milk instead)
1/4 cup heavy cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter an 8 1/2″ x 4″ x 2 1/2″ loaf pan; dust with flour, tapping out excess. Sift flour, salt, and baking powder into a medium bowl.

Melt 5 ounces chocolate in a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water, stirring occasionally until smooth.

Put butter in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix on low speed until smooth, 2 to 3 minutes. Add sugar; raise speed to medium. Cream butter and sugar until pale and fluffy, 3 to 4 minutes. Scrape down sides of bowl. Mix in eggs, 1 at a time. Reduce speed to low. Add flour mixture in three batches, alternating with two batches of milk. Mix until just combined.

Pour half of batter into melted chocolate; stir well. Alternating between remaining plain batter and the chocolate batter, drop large spoonfuls of batter into the prepared pan. When pan is filled, use a table knife to cut through mixture with a swirling motion.

Bake until a cake tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 1 hour. (If bread browns too quickly, tent with foil.) Let bread cool slightly in pan on a wire rack, about 10 minutes. Run a thin knife around edges of bread to loosen; unmold. Let cool completely on rack.

GANACHE

Put the remaining 3 ounces chocolate in a medium bowl. Heat cream in a small saucepan over medium heat until just about to simmer. Pour cream over chocolate; stir until mixture is smooth. Let stand 10 minutes to thicken slightly. Using a small offset spatula, spread ganache over cooled cake; let stand until set, about 1 hour. Bread can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature, up to 2 days.

layers

I used piping bags to make the symbol… I miscalculated on the amount of each type I would need… It looked right, but I had too much vanilla batter and almost not enough chocolate. The top layer of chocolate cake isn’t going to be thick enough I don’t think… I don’t know if I will like the result…  I’m not going to be putting the ganache on this one because I know how that part will work out.

(I’m really terrible at remembering to take pictures and I need a new camera… and I need photography lessons)

While this recipe is for the loaf, this batter is so moist that I use it for my cake pops too. It is a great consistency for the pops and since I make them with a cake pop pan and not by mulching an existing cake, I can’t add to the moistness. The marbling also looks great when you bite into them 😀

 

P1070094

 

Well, there it is. Not quite 😦 I think I know what I would change if I tried this again… but I don’t think I will. Boy, it tastes great though!

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Chocolate Marble Pi Loaf

  1. […] have big plans for pi day… except I’m starting stupidly late and given that my pi loaf failed, I had to get another idea. ALL DAY at work all I could think about was pi(e).  I was […]

Leave a Reply

