The Best Cookies. Ever.




Snickerdoodles.P1060712

You’ve probably heard of them… or maybe not.

Someone once, a long long time ago, bought me snickerdoodle coffee.  The coffee was excellent, but I had no idea what a snickerdoodle was and when I finally did try one I couldn’t remember what the coffee tasted like. I’ll have to find more of that coffee somewhere…

They’re a pretty simple cookie, which is what makes them so tempting. It’s the simple things in life, right?

They are soft, they smell amazing (warm or not) and they go well in just about any setting.

Everyone I know loves them and my very good friend, Jeannine, thinks they are just the bees knees, so I made them for her birthday this year.

I started making them at about 17:00… which means that is when I realized I needed my butter to be room temp before I could start, so really, it was more like, 18:30 or 19:00 before I actually started.  Since it was a Friday and I had nowhere better to be than my kitchen (sad? nah…) I took my sweet time.  So by the time it came to put them in the oven, the stores were closed. Which is always the time I realize I need something. *doh*

This time, it was parchment paper. I ran out a while ago and hadn’t been doing much baking so I didn’t notice. *sigh*  I tried without it anyways and the bottom of the first batch was unfortunately dark. Not burned, just not ‘golden’.

not so golden...

I doubled up on my baking sheets and it fixed the problem, but now I could only do one batch at a time.  I have since purchased some silicon mats so I never have to go through this again! (although, the mats are too big to fit on my little baking sheets which fit into my little oven… I think I can cut them to size though… )

time for a trim...

So, with only 1 tray at a time, plus a healthy dose of distraction via whatever movie I was watching in between cooling cycles, I think I put the final batch in at 22:30.

Pretty sure I had other things I had planned to get done that night… Sometimes I use baking as a procrastination method.  I can accomplish something tasty while avoiding so much else!

RECIPE

2 3/4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp pure vanilla

COATING

cinnamon*
granulated sugar

METHOD

Whisk together the flour, salt, and baking powder. Set aside.

flour, salt, baking powder

In the bowl of your stand mixer (or with beaters), beat the butter and sugar until smooth (about 2 to 3 minutes). Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

Scrape down the sides of the bowl often.

Beat in the vanilla extract. 

mmmm vanilla

Add the flour mixture and beat until you have a smooth dough. If the dough is soft, cover and refrigerate until firm.

Preheat oven to 400°F and line baking sheets with parchment paper – or silicon mats if you have them. If you don’t have either, double up the baking sheets and just watch them closely. 

Roll the dough into  1″ (2.5cm) round balls.  

that looks like an inch, right?

Roll balls in cinnamon sugar mixture* and place on baking sheets about 2″ apart.  Using the underside of a glass or mug flatten the balls to about 3/4″ thick in the centre.

Bake for about 7 minutes or until the edges are just golden.  This time varies per oven so watch the first batch.  The centres will be a bit soft.  Cool on a wire rack.

They store really well in an airtight container for up to two weeks. Although, I doubt they will last that long. One Christmas I inadvertently discovered they freeze well too!


cookies!!!

* The cinnamon coating is the standard, however, since I’ve made these for many different occasions I like to play with them a bit.  They lend themselves well to imprints and colours and you can roll them in the appropriate spice to match the season.

Rainbow 'doodles

These ones were coloured for Pride a few years ago. 

pumpkin snickerdoodles

These ones were rolled in pumpkin spice and sugar. Boy, they smelled good! I made the stems out of little chunks of chopped chocolate.pumpkin snickerdoodles

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

