Teeny Devils


P1060674

Taking another page out of my Tiny Food Party book, I decided to make itty bitty deviled eggs for a friends party.

I haven’t had a deviled egg in forever. They’re curious little things…

I have a cousin who is now a chef at a fancy restaurant and when he was small he asked to make the deviled eggs for a family gathering. It was too cute – he cut the eggs across the width instead of the length!

Ok, so, quail eggs are adorable, but hard to deal with. I started with 20+ and ended with 18ish…  Peeling them was a tad awkward, but I chilled them first which helped.  The hardest part was adding the filling! I had egg all over the place. Had to go back over the eggs and remove the eggy extra from the whites.

This recipe is for kimchi flavoured yolks, sprinkled with candied bacon.  I love kimchi, and I had some in the fridge, but I was really skeptical about this flavour pairing…  I tried a little sample and yuck. Maybe it was just my kimchi… But this was not a winning combination. 😦 I also can’t imagine these flavours with candied bacon… (which I did not make)

P1060675a

So off to my spice bottles I went… I ended up deciding on curry. I’m not really sure why, but it seemed like the best option… I guess when the other options are star anise, tumeric, garam masala and every other indian spice there is… curry seemed the most logical? or maybe the only one I could picture going well with egg?

The curry worked pretty well. I sprinkled them with a little paprika and they looked adorable…. until I tried to take them on the subway… I tilted the plate they were on and they all crashed into eachother… I was pretty ticked. haha. I should have known better 😛

I fixed them when I got to the party and they disappeared pretty quickly, so I guess no one noticed 😀

P1060677

INGREDIENTS

24 quail eggs
mayonnaise
spice of choice
salt/pepper
paprika

METHOD

Boil the eggs for about 5 minutes.  I find if you add the eggs to the cold water and bring them to a boil together, they’re less likely to crack.

Cool the eggs at room temp for a bit and then stick them in the fridge for 30 mins or so.   This will help the skin stick to the shell and not the whites when they’re peeled.

Carefully cut the eggs lengthwise and separate the yolks into a bowl.

Mix in a spoonful or two of mayo and a little salt and pepper to taste.

Add your spice about 1/2 tsp at a time, until the filling is tasty. Keep in mind the flavour will increase after they have been combined for a time, so don’t overdo it.

Fill egg whites with filling.

Sprinkle with paprika.

Serve chilled.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

