Odds and Ends…

Despite my thoughts that I would take a break from the kitchen after all that gingerbreading… I didn’t. I just can’t!

I had a friend over on the weekend to teach her how to make a pie crust. It was a success!

square pastry!

I’m always afraid that my dough will fail, so I was afraid I would screw up both of our doughs! Well I didn’t. All the dough worked out and we ended up with 6 mini apple pies and one tourtiere.  mmmm tourtiere.

tourtiere

mini apple pies

oh and 12 banana muffins with kamut flour and a pie muffin. What’s a pie muffin? It’s what happens when you have a small amount of leftover pie dough and a single muffin worth of batter… and a bottle of wine.

Pie muffin

This… was… well… Just an amusing expiriment with the leftovers. haha

CRUST

2 cups flour
2/3 cup butter, chilled
1/2 tsp salt
4-5 tbsp ice water

Place the flour, salt and butter in the food processor and process until there are small chunks of butter, about the size of peas.

Add water 1 tbsp at a time until dough sticks together when pinched. My dough turned out best with 4-5 tbsp.

Form into disc and roll out on floured surface.

MUFFINS

banana kamut muffins

This muffin recipe is from a cookbook compiled in 1994 by the parents and students of my grade school as a fundraiser. Since I am still using it 20 years later, I would consider it a wild success.
2-3 frozen bananas, mashed
1/2 cup miracle whip
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1 cup whole wheat flour (I used Kamut)
1 tsp baking soda

Mix the miracle whip and sugar together in a large bowl.

Add bananas and stir well.

Add egg and mix again.

Add in flour and baking soda. Mix until just incorporated.

Fill lined muffin tins as full as you like, these muffins do not rise much.

Bake at 375°F for 12-15 minutes.

NOTES: I only use fat free miracle whip but for those who don’t want mayo at all, I haven’t tried it, but you could probably sub in plain yogurt instead.
I also usually add chocolate chips, but I forgot this time. Walnuts could be good too.

TOURTIÈRE

Since I had a very deep pie plate to fill, I doubled the recipe I already had.  I’m just going to post what I did and if it is terrible (I will bake it tonight) I will post an update. However, I do not think it will be awful.

1 lb ground pork
1 lb ground veal
2 cups stock
2-3 stalks celery, chopped
4-5 shallots, chopped
2 tbsp unsalted butter
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp ground all spice
1 tsp thyme
4 tbsp breadcrumbs

In a large skillet or saucepan saute the celery and onions over medium heat for a couple minutes.  Add garlic and continue for another minute or so.

Add meats and cook until the pork changes colour.  Add stock & spices and mix in.  Cover and simmer over a low heat for 30 minutes.

If your stock completely boils away, feel free to add more. Moisture is key. If that happens, you should probably turn the temperature down a tad, too.

Let cool and stir in breadcrumbs.

Add to pie crust and top with more pastry.

Bake at 475°F for 10 minutes on the low rack. Turn temperature down to 375°F and move the tourtière  to the mid rack.

heaven

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

