Apple Cinnamon Pancake Puffs

ummm… right.  Great idea, rather complicated for morning…

When I have to get beaters out and use 3 bowls just to make breakfast… Thats almost too much effort.too much effort

I get grouchy when I’m hungry so by the end of these I was in quite the state. haha.  The directions suggest to heat the pan for a while on med-high heat and then reduce to low. Well, my low and theirs must be different, because if I planned on cooking these at low the whole time I would have been eating them for dinner.

I cranked up the heat after about 20 minutes of watching them NOT cook on low.  Then, not satisfied, after the second batch I turned it up again, just a tad. Then I burned them 😦 haha.  So I brought it back down a bit for the last batch and these ones seemed to turn out the best.

I think they should turn out like round balls, but they don’t… Most of them were half rounds… But as I got the hang of it, the last batch returned 1 round one and some 3/4 hollow balls.

puffs

The batter never quite seemed cooked. it stayed very doughy and chewy, and I think because I only had 1 pear (instead of 2 apples) there was more dough than there should have been in each. So next time, remeber to buy the two apples 😛 oops!

So just as I was getting hungry enough to eat the spoon they were done and I doused them in maple syrup and gave them a try.  Pretty tasty, although very doughy/chewy.  The pear worked well but there definitely needed to be more. They were incredibly filling and I was done after 3. So now I have a whole container of hemispherical pancake puffs to take for breakfast all week.

nom

I’ve given the ingredients below, but unless you have one of these little pans, I’m not sure what you would do with it. I bet they make decent larger pancakes, so I might try those sometime… Although, there has got to be an easier recipe for buttermilk pancakes!

INGREDIENTS:

2 apples, peeled, cored and diced.
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tsp cinnamon
2 eggs
1 tbsp granulated sugar
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder

1.  put chopped apples in a small bowl and add brown sugar, stir to coat.  Put apples in a small skillet and saute in butter until just soft. Return to bowl, add cinnamon and set aside.

app... er, pear!

2.  Separate eggs – in a large bowl (this is the bowl that will end up with all the ingredients) whisk the egg yolks with the sugar until creamy.

creamy?

3. In another bowl, beat the egg whites until they have stiff peaks.

twin peaks

4.  Sift together the flour and baking powder

5.  Add the flour mixture and the buttermilk, alternating in 1/2 cup increments, to the egg yolks. Stir well.

6.  Gently fold in egg whites.

folding

7.  Heat the pan over medium-low heat. Use a pastry brush to coat the cups entirely in butter.

mmm butter

8.   Fill each cup about half way with batter and  add a tsp of apples. Add more batter on top of apples until the cup is filled.

batter

9.  Allow to cook until the  edges of each pancake begin to brown and pull away from the sides of the cups.  Flip puff to cook through.

10.  Serve warm with maple syrup or butter and powdered sugar

puffs

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

