Gingerbread Townhouse: Phase 1

I’ve been making a gingerbread house every year I can remember save for a few chaotic ones. I got a few gingerbread templates from somewhere a few years ago and I’ve been making some different styles… Saltbox, Colonnial… This year, I’m trying Townhouse. And I’ve got no template… Well, except for my 3D autocad model! ha.

I wanted a new design this year and I asked a few friends to suggest things and I went with the townhouse idea. Although, upon figuring out the details it looked more like a semi-detached. So I went with it.

cottage

I’m basically doing a semi at 1/4″ scale. I was originally imagining little stairs going up to the doors, but when I realised how tiny those stair pieces were going to have to be, I opted for a ground floor entry.

I’m planning 3 stories high with a front to back gable roof with two dormers. The dormers are where things get complicated. I’ve made some of the pieces at this point, but I didn’t have enough dough first round to make everything. I still have to see whether or not it will fit together the way I intend.

P1060510

My dough was not moist enough for some reason this time. (I just realized i forgot to add a little water) It cracked and just generally wasn’t very smooth when rolled out. Blah. I got the two sides of the houses and some small roof pieces and a few miscellaneous tree cookies and other possible decorations.

Going to make more dough tomorrow and hopefully get everything I need to assemble on the weekend. Probably one more batch to have extra cookies and such.

P1060508

BASIC GINGERBREAD

1 cup unsalted butter – room temp
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup molasses
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cloves
5 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 to 1/2 cup water.

1.  Beat butter until softened. Add sugar and beat until fluffy.

2. In a seperate bowl, mix together dry ingredients.

3. Add molasses to butter mixture and mix well.

4.  Gradually add dry mixture to butter mixture, continue to stir well. (I use a stand mixer until it gets really tough and then I use my hands for the last bit) Add water 1 tbsp at a time to incorporate the last of the flour.

5.  Form into two discs and wrap in plastic and put in the fridge for several hours but preferably overnight.

6.  Roll out on floured surface to about 3/16″ thick.

7.  Bake at 375° for 8 minutes – until firm but not browned.

8.  Cool on on cookie sheets and transfer to a wire rack.

P1060511

to be continued…

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Gingerbread Townhouse: Phase 1

  1. Jane January 7, 2013 at 12:48 am Reply

    remember back in school, 1st year freehand class… i think it was the 2nd assignment of the course, we had to make a roof model with cereal box (or cardboard?).
    did you make your model with gingerbread instead?

  2. MissModderman January 7, 2013 at 1:13 am Reply

    lol. I tried making some cardboard templates, but it was easier to just get my scale out and measure right onto the gingerbread!

Leave a Reply

