Spritz Cookies

wafer

So… When I bought my latest cookie press I had the best of intentions. I was going to make a million cookies.

I got about 4 dozen in and that was plenty.

I don’t know if it was my dough or my press… First time testing out my new Pampered Chef press and it was not what I expected…

(Backstory: I’ve been looking for a cookie press for a while. My mom isn’t ready to give up hers yet, but in my memory, that is the best press in the world. I remember making these cookies as a kid and it was time consuming, but every time since has been a royal pain or complete failure.)

Cookie Press

Enter Pampered Chef Cookie Press.

P1060432

Its good and sturdy. Good plastic and it comes apart easily (even with cookie greasy hands).  The tube itself is 3″ in diameter, and maybe I just have little hands, but it really isn’t easy to hold. It’s just slightly too big to be comfortable. It also isn’t the typical “gun” style I’m used to. The press portion is a corkscrew style press… So you turn it to press the batter out. It works well, but it makes the press completely unusable one handed.

P1060430

The nozzle area is actually recessed in the tip, so that you can basically just put the press down flat and there is enough room to press out a cookie, but if you aren’t looking at it from the side while crouched down at counter level, it is really hard to tell how much cookie you have pressed out. I think this is a practice thing, as the more I cookies I pressed, the better I got at estimating… but I had many so many redo’s. Next time I will get a little stool to sit on while I press! haha.

So again, it could be a better press, but I like it for now. There are going to be a lot of funny looking cookies in my future!

P1060426

My other issue was possibly the dough. It wasn’t soft enough, so it didn’t separate nicely from the pressed dough, it sort of ripped and left jagged dough edges instead of that nice soft look these cookies typically have.  My butter was room temp as the recipe asked for… and I whipped it until fluffy… So next time I try a different recipe… or maybe just 1/4 cup less flour.

In the end, although a tad funny looking, I have a bunch of tasty cookies.

P1060427

I used the Joy of Baking “Spritz” cookie recipe this time. Next time I’m going to phone mom to see about her recipe.

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Spritz Cookies

  1. thecookingchook December 12, 2012 at 6:31 am Reply

    Your cookies still look wonderful despite you thinking they look funny….:)

    • MissModderman December 12, 2012 at 3:25 pm Reply

      Thanks! 🙂 I guess they weren’t that bad, but i will still have to adjust something to make the dough softer…

Leave a Reply

