Fudge Brownie Bliss

My lovely lady friend, Chiara,  came to me with a fudge brownie recipe and a claim that she cannot bake!

“Impossible” says I.  Everyone can bake.  So Sunday,  we made brownies.  No butter,  no eggs.

mmm batter...

1/2 cup chocolate, melted
1 cup plain yogurt
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup water

Mix chocolate, yoghurt and sugar together. Sift flour, cocoa and baking soda into chocolate mixture and stir until just combined. Add water and stir until mixture comes together.
Pour into a parchment lined 8″x8″ pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean. Cool completely and cut into squares.

fudgy smoothness

*** Notes ***
We used brown sugar instead of white granulated, same quantity.
I chopped about a 1/2 cup of chocolate and then melted it.
Also, due to a lack of measuring spoons, my 1/4 tsp of baking powder was an estimate. And no sifter, so I whisked until smooth.
My pan was glass, so this affected the baking time… I had to bake about 40 mins, and still the toothpick wasn’t clean.

Oh the joys of cooking in someone elses kitchen! Haha.

P1060375

The final product was the most unusual brownie I’ve ever tried.  It was smooth, light, dense and moist and not cakey at all.
I will be making them again in my own kitchen, just to check if any of the changes I made had an effect.

All in all, a pretty tasty brownie. I would love to try it with some raspberry syrup in the mix… Or maybe use a springform pan and have a raspberry drizzle…

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Fudge Brownie Bliss

  1. Jane December 5, 2012 at 1:42 am Reply

    Ok, adding this to my recipe pile! 😀

Leave a Reply

