Mo Tarts

As previously mentioned, at my office we do a Movember Bakesale to help raise money.  Last year, my coworker Brittany did the whole thing herself and until this year I didn’t even think about how much work that must have been.  So, as my dream of mustache cookies came closer, I talked to her about splitting the month and each taking two weeks so neither of us was overrun with orders… She was definitely happy to have help!

I did the mustache cookies for my first week and then had the decision of what to make for the second week and how to make it mustachy… and easy. (Did i mention I made over 200 mustache cookies and spent almost 2 whole days on them?)

storebought crust practice batch

So this time i decided to make tarts. easier? oddly enough, yes. even when I decided to make the crust from scratch too. I just couldn’t bring myself to use storebought crust. I made the practise batch with the storebought crust (pic above), and there was just something not quite homebaked enough about the whole tart… So when i found out i didn’t have as many orders as I had had for the cookies, it solidified the decision.

I used a pretty standard pumpkin pie recipe I’ve had for a while – no idea where it came from. I will admit to using the Joy of Baking pumpkin pie crust, since my ‘usual’ pie crust recipe has been failing me lately. or maybe I have been failing it… i ❤ joyofbaking.com. 🙂

crust:

1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp white sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter, chilled, cut into 1″ pieces
1/8 c up to 1/4 cup ice water

Place the dry ingredients into a food processor and pulse just to combine.

Add the butter pieces and process until the mixture resembles coarse meal – this should take about 15-20 seconds.  Add about 1/8th of a cup of the ice water (about 2 tbsp) and pulse for another 10-15 seconds until the dough just holds together when pinched.

Turn dough clean flat surface and make into a disc, wrap with plastic and put in the fridge for 30 mins,  up to an hour.

Remove from fridge and roll out on a floured surface to about 1/8″ – 3/16″ thickness and use tart shells as a guide to cut the dough to size. Keep an extra 1/4″ around to allow for a nice crust edge after dough is pressed into tart shell.

filling:

2/3 cup brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cup pumpkin
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup light cream
1/2 cup milk
bottle of real maple syrup

Combine sugar, spices and salt in a large bowl.  Add pumpkin and lightly beaten eggs, stir to combine. Add vanilla.  Pour in cream and milk slowly, mixing thoroughly.

maple:

1/2 tbsp maple syrup per tart

Fill each tart shell with approximately 1/2 tbsp maple syrup.  Add filling and top with pastry shape (if using)

Place on a baking sheet and bake @ 350°F for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
Let cool completely before adding maple sugar icing.

To make the maple sugar icing I took  room temperature unsalted butter, added maple syrup and brown sugar until I liked what i tasted, then I just piped it on using a star tip.  I also didn’t whip it, but I would imagine it would be wonderful if you did…

Did you notice the adorable tiny pastry mustaches on the tops? yup. adorable. Those were made of puff pastry (store bought – one of my original ideas what to make puff pastry shells – bad…), and since the tart shell idea failed, I had lots of thawed puff pastry.  My friend Jane took it upon herself to make tiny mustache cookie cutters out of a pop can! (and people say i have patience…).  They worked great and in return she got almost an entire sheet of tiny, puff pastry mustaches to snack on!! ( and I did not, at all, snack on the scrap pastry nor did i dip it in the leftover icing…)

aren't they frelling adorably tiny?!

All in all, they were pretty tasty. Not quite sure what, if anything, I would do to tweak them… If anyone tries these I’d love to hear feedback.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

